Tuesday, March 24, 2009

Hall Of Fame Tabs Larkin, Rickey

The College Baseball Hall of Fame Class of 2009 was announced today. Amongst those honored by the College Baseball Foundation are two men with University of Michigan ties -- Branch Rickey and Barry Larkin. Rickey, who is also a member of the National Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York, coached Michigan 1910-13. Larkin, who would also appear destined for enshrinement in Cooperstown, was a star shortstop for the Wolverines from 1983-85.

The two Michigan legends will join Joe Carter (Wichita State), Darren Dreifort (Wichita State), Kirk Dressendorfer (Texas), Gordie Gillespie (Lewis/St. Francis), Keith Moreland (Texas), Rafael Palmeiro (Mississippi State), Ron Polk (Georgia Southern/Mississippi State/Georgia) and Todd Walker (Louisiana State) as members of the fourth-ever Hall of Fame class.