Sunday, May 25, 2008

All-Tournament Team

I didn't provide this last night, but here's a look at the all-tournament team. It wasn't a particularly easy year to make choices. In the end, I don't think you can argue any of the selections. Sure, I could make a case for Penn State's Mike Wanamaker (complete game win) and Josh Phegley of Indiana (hit a pair of homers). However, you'd have to remove somebody to get one of these guys onto the team and I'm not sure who I'd vote off the island.

There were a number of people who thought Dan Black's five home run tournament, which is now the tournament record, should have made him MVP. It's not difficult to understand that argument, but the voters liked Michael Powers saving all three Michigan wins. Perfection for the champs is hard to disagree with as well.

While Powers was tremendous in relief and Black bombarded Ray Fisher Stadium, Indiana's Chris Hervey was a hitting machine. Hervey went 12 for 16 (.750) with nine runs scored and seven RBI in five games. Hervey only collected one extra base hit (a double), but also had a couple of sacrifices, got hit by a pitch twice and stole a base. It wasn't good enough for MVP honors this year, but it was a noteworthy performance.


P - Chris Fetter, Michigan
P - Zach Putnam, Michigan
P - Michael Powers, Michigan
P - Kevin Manson, Illinois
C - Dan Black, Purdue
1B - Jerrud Sabourin, Indiana
2B - Cory Kovanda, Ohio State
3B - Adam Abraham, Michigan
SS - Tyler Cox, Indiana
OF - Chris Hervey, Indiana
OF - Kevin Cislo, Michigan
OF - John Moore, Purdue
DH - Rob Yodice, Penn State / Michael Earley, Indiana

Most Outstanding Player: Michael Powers, Michigan

1 comment:

kowisja said...

Michigan is hosting. Official release by NCAA.